The Council is the executive body and governing authority of the University and composed of the Vice Chancellor, who is the ex-officio Chairman, Deans of the three Faculties, two elected representatives of the Senate and persons of distinction in Educational, Professional, Commercial, Industrial, Scientific or Administrative spheres who are appointed by the University Grants Commission (UGC) in such numbers as to exceed the aforementioned membership from the University by one.


  • Senior Professor Rohana  P Mahaliyanaarachchi

Deans of the Faculties

  • Dr. S.P.D. Liyanage – Faculty of Graduate Studies
  • Senior Prof. Mudiyanse Dissanayake – Faculty of Dance & Drama
  • Senior Lecturer Chiltus Dayawansa – Faculty of Music
  • Senior Lecturer M.Jagath Raveendra – Faculty of Visual Arts

Senate Nominees

  • Snr.Lec. (Dr) Indika Ferdinando
  • Snr.Lec. Iranga Samindani Silva Weerakkody

UGC Appointees

  • Prof.(Mrs) Kusuma Karunaratne
  • Retired. Prof.(Mrs) Mangalika Jayatunga
  • Dr.Sunil Wijesiriwardena
  • Mr.C.Maliyadda
  • Mr. Gunasena Thenabadu
  • Mr.D. Bandaranayake
  • Mr.B.M.K. Mohottala
  • Mr. T. Darmarajah

Secretary to the Council

  • Mr. B.M. Dayawansa (Registrar)