Senate Members of University of the Visual and Performing Arts

The Senate is the academic authority of the University and is comprised of the Vice Chancellor who is the ex-officio Chairman, Deans of the Faculties, Heads of the Departments of Study, permanent Senior Professors and Professors of the University, the Librarian, and two faculty board nominees from each Faculty who are elected by the permanent lecturers of the respective Faculty themselves. The period of office of an elected member is three years. The Senate in the execution of its duties has appointed the following Sub Committees:


• Senior Professor (Dr) Rohan P Mahaliyannarachchi –Chairman of the Senate
Deans of the Faculties
• Prof.Kolitha Bhanu Dissanayake – Faculty of Graduate Studies
• Dr. Indika Ferdinando ( Snr. Lec) – Faculty of Dance and Drama
• Dr. Saman Panapitiya (Snr. Lec) – Faculty of Music
• Mr. M.Jagath Ravindra (Snr. Lec.). – Faculty of Visual Arts


• Prof. Karunarathna Bandara
• Prof. S.P.D. Liyanage
• Prof. Mangala Senanayake
• Prof. (Mrs.)K.D.S. Rajapaksha
• Prof. Chandraguptha Thenuwara

Heads of the Departments

Faculty of the Visual Arts

• Mr.K. A. D. Indika (Snr.Lec.) Department of Painting
• Dr. H.M.S.S. Herath (Snr.Lec.) Department of Multi-media Art
• Dr. Vajira Nalinda Jayathilake (Snr.Lec.) Department of History & Theory of Art
• Dr.Priyantha Udagedara(Snr.Lec.) Department of Textile and Wearable Arts
• Mr. K.T. Jayasekara(Snr.Lec.) Department of Printmaking
• Mr.W.A.P.C.S. Wickramaarachchi (Snr.Lec.)Department of Visual Communication & Design
• Mr. K.R.C.Kumarasiri (Snr.Lec.) Department of Multi Disciplinary Design
• Mr.J.M.M. Bandara (SnrLec.) Department of Ceramics
• Mr.M.M.Dayananda (Lec.Prob.) Department of Sculpture

Faculty of Dance and Drama

• Mr.M.M.I.G.Madurasinghe (Snr.Lec.) Department of Indian & Asian Dance
• Ms. Dammika Lankatilleke (Snr.Lec.) Department of Kandyan Dancing
• .Mr.B.A.D.S.Premarathne (Snr.Lec) Department of Instrumental Music
• Mr.S.P.H.C. Amarasinghe (Lec.) Department of History and Theory of Dance and
• Mr. B.A.D.A.S. Kumara ( Snr.Lec) Department of Low Country Dancing
• Dr. T.C. Dandeniya ( Snr.Lec) Department of Theater, Oriental Ballet and
Modern Dance
• Mr. K.M.S. Kumarathunga (Snr.Lec) Department of Sabaragamu Dancing
• Dr.(Mrs) R.M.S.Embogama( Snr. Lec) Department of English Language Teaching

Faculty of Music

• Mr. W.A.M. Sandaruwan (Snr. Lec) Department of Ethno Musicology
• Mr. K. Samarakoon (Snr. Lec.) Department of Western Music
• Mr.W.D.D.R. Wikramarathne (Snr,Lec.) Department of North Indian Classical Music
• Mr.R.P.Mahinda Senevirathna ( Snr. Lec.) Department of Applied Music and Mass Communication
• Mr.A.M.Chandralal Amarakoon (Snr.Lec) Department of Musicology
• Mr..A.M.H.K.Fernando (Snr.Lec) Department of South Indian Music


• Dr.G.R. Padmasiri

Faculty Board Nominees

• Mr.L. Sarath Kumara (Snr. Lec.) – Faculty of Music
• Mr.D. Chanaka Peiris (Snr. Lec.) – Faculty of Music
• Dr. (Mrs.) Palika Samanthi ( Snr. Lec) – Faculty of Dance and Drama
• Dr. (Mrs.) Asoka Dissanayaka( Snr. Lec) – Faculty of Dance and Drama
• Mr. B.Sarath Gunasiri Perera (Snr.Lec.) – Faculty of Visual Arts
• Dr. H.M.S.Manoranjana Herath Bandara ( Snr. Lec) – Faculty of Visual Arts


• Mrs. Kamani Samarasinghe (Snr. Lec.) -Director-Open and Distance Learning Unit
• Dr.M.L.C.P. Maddegoda ( Snr. Lec) -Director-Centre for Quality Assurance Unit

• B.M.Dayawansa – Secretary to the Senate