Degree Programs





CODL notices




The Faculty of Music shows an independent pedagogic academic scenario under the Departments of North Indian Music, South Indian Music, Western Music, Musicology, Ethnomusicology and Applied Music & Mass Communication. The intrinsic properties inhered in different course units are well connected with the intangible heritage of the motherland, religions and the world realm of music where we meet the conceptual values and expressive values dazzling among the humanism. Music crosses the barriers of cultural norms and boarder lines of cultural zones featuring the diversity of multi ethnicity with the artistic vision and the scientific thinking flood light from the spiritual and secular ideology of the people.

Core Purpose

To become a center of greatness in the field of music education, research and Creative.

Core Value

Strengthening human resources and developing personalities through creative and research thinking in music education.

Dean’s Message

Welcome to the Faculty of Music – (FMU)

University of the Visual and Performing arts holds a long and cherished history in sustaining aesthetic education and producing competent creative artists in the field of performing arts. The FMU of the University of the Visual and Performing Arts boasts of a long and golden history in tertiary education. Formally, this FMU was known as the Government college of Music founded by the late J.D.A. Perera in 1952.

After the establishment of the Institute of Aesthetic studies, which was affiliated to the University of Kelaniya, on 1st May 1974 the Government College of Music was established as a separate department. Three decades later, on the 1st July 2005, this institute was re- established as an autonomous university which comprised the FMU.

The UVPA is the only university in Sri Lanka established with a purpose to provide undergraduate and postgraduate education exclusively in the subject streams of visual and performing arts and to carry out researches in the same field. FMU offer Bachelor of Performing Arts Hones Degree in Music. It is a four-year degree program. A unique feature of this program is exposing all music students towards learning and understanding both Western and Non-Western musical styles. Students are given the opportunity to choose their major and subsidiary subjects for studies in their chosen genres.

The Faculty of Music is a learning center within the Sri Lankan university system offering a wide range of disciplines in the field of Music. FMU is made up of six departments, namely the Department of North Indian Music, Department of South Indian Music, Department of Western Music, Department of Ethnomusicology, Department of Applied Music & Mass Communication and Department of Musicology. These six departments are operating under the main academic streams of Sri Lankan Music and World Music (North Indian, South Indian, Western and Applied etc.) in addition to major theoretical course components.

Six Departments of Study in this Faculty provide higher education, student guidance and advising on par with international standards. The composition of our academic staff is representative of the diverse skills and expertise in many fields of study. Many of them have obtained their qualifications and training from reputed and recognized universities from around the world.  The Faculty possesses also has an efficient and committed non-academic staff to support the learning process. From its inception to date the Faculty of Music has produced eminent artistes, popular music directors, singers, instrumentalists and scholars. Therefore the graduates we produce will contribute innovatively and creatively to the national development process. The faculty is committed to producing an accomplished citizen who is fully prepared to confront the challenges of the changing world, and who can make innovative contributions to the progress of the Music industry.


Dean`s Report 2021

Please wait while flipbook is loading. For more related info, FAQs and issues please refer to DearFlip WordPress Flipbook Plugin Help documentation.


Teaching, Learning & Research Facilities

State-of-the art Lecture Halls and Practical Class Rooms, Computer Laboratories, Recording Studio and the newly established Auditorium designed according to the modern architecture and technology, music instruments and practical sessions are few of the facilities to be named among ample conveniences available in the faculty for their undergraduates.

The C. De S Kulathilake Research Centre of the faculty is one of the largest and rare repositories. It consists of an archival of rare and valuable collection of audio-video recordings in the music field.

“Dr.Lionel Edirisinghe Rostrum” State of the Art Auditorium was established in year 2017,  to showcase the international, national and other University events such as stage performances, Live music concerts, conferences, workshops, seminars, meetings and cultural events.

The Auditorium is well-furnished, air-conditioned and equipped with modern and high quality State of the Art Digital live sound system with multi-channel recording facility and a modern digital stage lighting system. The auditoriums feature fixed traditional theatre style seating with around 350 seats, raised stage and the balcony.

At present there is no Auditorium where equipped with this type of fixed live sound system In Sri Lanka.

The Faculty’s envisage is to gain National and International recognition, educating the students to conduct contemporary and high tech Music concerts and technology related researches.